Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

Welcome to the English Department

The Radnor High School English curriculum consists of full-year grade-level courses for freshmen, sophomores, juniors, and seniors. In addition to courses carrying “English” credit, the English department offers students opportunities to take courses carrying “Elective” or “Humanities” credit.

Requirements for all students: Students must take one credit in English each year; all students are required to take the appropriate grade-level course; English department members will assist students in choosing courses that match their abilities; students who are English Language Learners may take English for English Language Learners instead of one of the above courses for their English credit.

Call the department office at 610-293-0855 x3620 or x3621 to reach English faculty by telephone.

Faculty

  • Mr. Joseph Caruolo
    9th Grade English Advanced; 11th Grade American Literature Advanced; Film Analysis I
    joseph.caruolo@rtsd.org

    Ms. Molly Fuhr
    9th Grade The American Experiment (Interdisciplinary); 11th Grade American Literature Advanced; Writing Center
    molly.fuhr@rtsd.org

    Mr. Robert Hostetler, Department Chair
    10th Grade World Literature Honors; 12th Grade AP English Literature & Composition
    robert.hostetler@rtsd.org
     
    Mr. Adam Isard
    10th Grade World Literature College Prep, Advanced, Honors; Writing Center
    adam.isard@rtsd.org
     
    Mr. Aaron Kim
    10th Grade Global Issues (Interdisciplinary); 11th Grade American Literature Advanced, Honors
    aaron.kim@rtsd.org
     
    Mrs. Charlene Mastro
    English Language Learners
    charlene.mastro@rtsd.org
     
    Mrs. Fran Misener
    Instructional Coach
    frances.misener@rtsd.org
     
    Mr. T.J. Neary
    10th Grade Global Issues (Interdisciplinary); 10th Grade World Literature Honors; 12th Grade AP English Literature & Composition
    thomas.neary@rtsd.org
     
    Ms. Kristen Nield
    9th Grade English Advanced; 10th Grade World Literature Advanced
    kristen.nield@rtsd.org
     
    Mr. Trevor Payne
    9th Grade The American Experiment (Interdisciplinary); 12th Grade British & Modern Literature Honors; Journalism
    trevor.payne@rtsd.org
     
    Mrs. Kathy Pearsall
    11th Grade AP Language and Composition; 12th Grade AP English Literature & Composition; Writing Center
    kathy.pearsall@rtsd.org
     
    Mrs. Janee Peterson
    9th Grade English Honors;12th Grade British & Modern Literature Advanced, Honors; Writing Center
    janee.peterson@rtsd.org
     
    Mr. Carl Rosin
    9th Grade English Advanced; 11th Grade AP Language and Composition; Topics in Philosophy & Writing; Creative Writing
    carl.rosin@rtsd.org
     
    Dr. Alexis Swinehart
    9th Grade English Honors; 12th Grade Senior Seminar (Interdisciplinary); Film Analysis I
    alexis.swinehart@rtsd.org
     
    Mrs. Jessica Verguldi-Scott
    11th Grade American Literature Honors; 12th Grade British & Modern Literature College Prep; 12th Grade Senior Seminar (Interdisciplinary); Writing Center
    jessica.verguldi-scott@rtsd.org