Mathematics Curriculum Information


K-12 Mathematics Course Sequence

  • The math program in RTSD is guided by a suite of standards documents from both the state and national levels, all of which are used in curriculum planning. These include:


Keystone Exams

  • What are Keystone Exams? 

    The Keystone Exams are end-of-course assessments developed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education which are designed to evaluate proficiency in specific academic content.  Currently, there are three Keystone Exams being administered—Algebra 1, Literature, and Biology.  In future years, pending funding from the Pennsylvania Legislature, additional Keystone Exams will be administered.  


    Who takes the Keystone Exams?

    Beginning in 2012-2013 the Algebra I, Literature, and Biology Keystone Exams will replace the 11th grade Pennsylvania System of School Assessment (PSSA) tests in mathematics, reading, and science for purposes of satisfying No Child Left Behind (NCLB)/Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) requirements. Therefore, all students in grade 11 must participate in the Algebra I, Literature, and Biology Keystone Exams. Additionally, students in any grade 9 or 10 who completed or are enrolled in a Keystone related course will participate.