Skip To Main Content

Mobile Nav Container

Elementary Teacher & RES Student Win "Making A Difference" Awards

Amy Ziegler, an emotional support teacher at Ithan, Radnor and Wayne elementary schools, and Piersen Evans, a 5th-grader a Radnor Elementary School, have been named "Making A Difference Award" winners, sponsored by Delaware County's Right to Education Local Task Force. Ms. Ziegler was nominated by WES Principal Nancy Ferguson and Piersen by RES teacher Todd Serpico.

The award recognizes "outstanding adults who have demonstrated extraordinary efforts through their exceptional work to promote acceptance and understanding to ensure the inclusion of all children of all abilities" and "students who have persevered and overcome challenges to be successful within an inclusive setting or students who have demonstrated exceptional support, friendship, acceptance, and understanding to ensure the inclusion of classmates of all abilities."

"Each day [Ms. Ziegler] is positive, engaged, and always finding ways to include students meaningfully and respectfully," Mrs. Ferguson said in her nomination. "She is a resource to all staff and works tirelessly to help us be updated and skilled in interventions and behavior plans. I can't think of anyone else who would deserve this recognition more."

Piersen Evans and Todd Serpico

"Piersen Evans is one of the kindest and most inclusive students I have ever met," Mr. Serpico said in his nomination. "He is constantly looking out for other students who struggle to fit in socially, academically or emotionally. The core of his being is to include and support, to welcome and guide, to support and serve others."

Ms. Ziegler and Piersen will be honored at a virtual ceremony on May 12.

  • Achievements
  • Ithan Elementary School
  • Making A Difference
  • Radnor Elementary School
  • Wayne Elementary School