Return to Headlines

Eighth-Graders Honored at Annual Recognition Ceremony

June 18, 2018

Radnor Middle School 8th-Graders Honored at Annual Recognition and Awards Ceremony


Radnor Middle School 8th-graders said goodbye to middle school and hello to high school with the support of family and friends at the annual 8th-Grade Recognition and Awards Ceremony on June 13. All students crossed the stage in the RMS auditorium to receive a certificate from 8th-grade counselor Clyde Diehl and assistant principal Ryan Buterbaugh.

View photos

Select students were also honored by teachers and guests with a variety of end-of-year awards during the ceremony. These awards recognize students who excelled in academics, demonstrated civic responsibility by participating in various community service activities, and showed leadership and sportsmanship in athletics.

The event was led by grade level chairs Darcy Schneider and Steven Smolen.

The 8th-Grade Awards and Recipients are:

Three people standing in front of curtain Maisy Chase and David Marshall received the American Legion Award, which annually recognizes one boy and one girl for their service to their school and surrounding community. Students are nominated by their teachers for this award and then are selected by their peers via a voting process. The award highlights those students who are deemed to possess the highest qualities of courage, honor, leadership, patriotism, and protection of the fundamental institutions of our government and the advancement of society.

Tommy DeShan and Sonali Purohit received the Ann Marie Lord "The Radnor Way" Award. This award is given in honor of retired RMS teacher Ms. Ann Marie Lord. The Radnor Way Award is given to a student who represents the characteristics of the Radnor Middle School Code of Conduct, goes the extra mile to include others, embodies the school culture and climate, does their best and never gives up.

Ryan Davey and Jessie Stoudt received the Central League Scholar Athlete Award, which recognizes individuals for not only their athletic accomplishments but also their scholastic accomplishments. This honor is bestowed upon one male and one female student-athlete that exemplify honor, leadership, positive conduct and performance.

Caitlin Hickey received the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) Good Citizenship Award, which recognizes a student who embodies the qualities of honor, service, leadership and patriotism.

Mia Xie received the Director's Award for Band*

Sophia Kaisermann received the Director's Award for Chorus*

David Marshall received the Director's Award for Jazz Band*

Emmett Hillman received the Director's Award for Orchestra*

Anushka Dixit, Edy Mackenzie, Bell Muthukumaran and Sydney O'Shea received the Dr. Gary Kime Award, which is dedicated to Dr. Gary Kime, who devoted over 30 years to Radnor Middle School as a 7th- and 8th-grade social studies teacher, academic team leader, coach, and athletic director. He was committed to excellence in the classroom and on the athletic fields. In a firm but friendly way, Dr. Kime embodied the very virtues he sought to instill in his students, his undefeated pound football teams, and his fellow faculty members; namely integrity, dedication, hard work, and a sincere pride in everything Radnor. Recipients of this award demonstrate these characteristics in their daily school life, yet may not be recognized in any other way. 

Danny Rosenblum 
and Mary Sareen received the Emerson "Chief" Metoxen Award, awarded to the Radnor Middle School male/female athlete who is in the 8th-grade and who best exemplifies the Radnor traditions of sportsmanship, loyalty, and endeavor.

Elizabeth Johnstone received the George W. Mitchell Award, given in honor and in memory of former Radnor Middle School principal George W. Mitchell. It is presented annually to 8th-grade students for excellence in all academic areas in the 8th-grade at Radnor Middle School.

Three people standing, one holding award Cooper Roy received the Kaela Stuard Award, given in memory of a special student to a unique "spirit" whose openness and kindness lends itself to empathy and joy, despite the obstacles in life.

Luke Phillips received the Lois Adams Award, presented to 8th-grade students who have shown growth and improvement within their middle school career and have demonstrated consistent effort and motivation throughout middle school.

Emmett Hillman and Lyla Wallis received the Patricia E. Lee Literacy Award, which recognizes one boy and one girl who have a love of reading, literacy, and community. These students are rarely seen without a book in hand.

Ben Ploppa and Samantha Rosin received the Peter Henkel "Always Take the Ramp" Award. This award is given in memory of Pete Henkel, whose presence in the hallway gave other students endless optimism. When many people met Pete, they wondered how they could help him. However, he ended up helping everyone around him. This award is presented in Pete’s memory to the 8th grade students who exemplify courage, compassion, strength, patience and a kind spirit. 

Afiyah Abdul Azeez and Olive Richter received the PTO Service Award, presented annually to 8th-graders who have given outstanding service to the school and who may be considered an unsung hero. This student is always willing to help others without ever being asked.

Paula Rudnick received the Robert E. Reeser Award, established by Radnor Middle School in 1971 in memory of Robert E. Reeser. Mr. Reeser was a popular and beloved social studies teacher whose life was cut short by cancer. The award is presented to 8th-grade student who has all, or most, of the following characteristics: personal courage, self-discipline, interest in other, and school and community leadership.

Olivia Shieh received the Ryan Spiess Award, given "in memory of a student whose spunk and daring celebrated the power of individualism."

Naomi Gross and Cooper Mueller received the Walter E. Katuzny, Jr. Leadership Award, which is presented annually in memory of Walt Katuzny, a long-time Radnor Middle School teacher and Radnor High School coach who passed away years ago following a valiant battle with cancer. The Walter Katuzny Leadership Award is presented to a girl and a boy who have demonstrated leadership in academics, athletics, and service.

Sophia Kaisermann and Michael McNicholas received the William F. Laffey Community Spirit Award, presented to students that best exemplify the following attributes: empathy, concern for others, service, kindness, and cooperation with fellow students and staff. The recipient of this award is the kind of person that will lend a hand without fanfare.

*Award was presented earlier this year