Return to Headlines

21 RHS Students Named Finalists in National Merit Scholarship Program

March 4, 2020

Twenty-One Radnor High School Students Advance to Finalist Round in 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program

All twenty-one Radnor High School seniors that were previously named semifinalists have advanced to finalist standing in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. Estelle Atkinson, Katherine Bell, Riley Brenan, Luke Choi, Asa Hartman, Timothy Holtman, Helen Hu, Baylee Huang, Anna Maria Iaramboykov, Kyle Ittner, Yudai Kaneda, Amia Korman, Tobey Le, Chapin Lenthall-Cleary, John Lindgren, Leo Luan, Ryan Oliver, Sara Takenaka, Mehek Thapar, Thomas Tropeano and Annabel Zhao join approximately 15,000 high school seniors from across the United States and are eligible for some 7,500 scholarships worth more than $31 million.

The 21 RHS finalists is an increase of five students from last year's finalist count and the highest number of Radnor High School NMS finalists since 2013, when there were 23. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation will announce the Merit Scholar designees in four installments in April, May, June and July 2020.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. To become a finalist, the semifinalist and his or her high school had to submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provided information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.

The entire Radnor Township School District community congratulates these seniors on their tremendous accomplishment and wishes them the best of luck moving forward!