Return to Headlines

Radnor Middle School 8th-Graders Honored During Virtual Awards Ceremony

June 8, 2020

Radnor Middle School 8th-Graders Honored During Virtual Awards Ceremony


Dozens of Radnor Middle School 8th-graders were honored by teachers and guests with a variety of end-of-year awards during the school's first-ever virtual 8th-Grade Awards Ceremony on June 4.

Click here to watch the Virtual Ceremony

The event, led by grade-level chairs Darcy DiGiacomo and Stephen Smolen, recognized students who excelled in academics, demonstrated civic responsibility by participating in various community service activities, showed leadership and sportsmanship in athletics, and more.

The entire 8th-grade class was honored during a virtual Recognition Ceremony that premiered immediately following the awards ceremony.

The 8th-Grade Awards and Recipients are:

American Legion Award: Allison Engle and Carter Mountain
This award annually recognizes one boy and one girl for their service to their school and surrounding community. Students are nominated by their teachers for this award and then are selected by their peers via a voting process. The award highlights those students who are deemed to possess the highest qualities of courage, honor, leadership, patriotism, and protection of the fundamental institutions of our government and the advancement of society.

AnnMarie Lord "The Radnor Way" Award: Henry Faragalli
This award is given in honor of retired RMS teacher Ms. Ann Marie Lord. The Radnor Way Award is given to a student who represents the characteristics of the Radnor Middle School Code of Conduct, goes the extra mile to include others, embodies the school culture and climate, does their best and never gives up.

Central League Scholar Athlete Award: Kessy Cox and Katherine Gallagher
This award recognizes individuals for not only their athletic accomplishments but also their scholastic accomplishments. This honor is bestowed upon one male and one female student-athlete that exemplify honor, leadership, positive conduct and performance.

Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) Good Citizenship Award: Laura Girton and Margarita Moreland
This award recognizes a student who embodies the qualities of honor, service, leadership and patriotism.

Director's Award for Band: Diana Huang

Director's Award for Chorus: Natalie Dumin

Director's Award for Jazz Band: Karl Fredericks

Director's Award for Orchestra: Arav Menon

Dr. Gary Kime Award: Paige Bailey, Camryn Barkley, Luke Bodden, Matthew Fuller, James Haussman, Margot Johnson, Renata Kozlowska, Garrett Mayover, Lauren Meyer, Cara Ruggieri, Dustin Schrader and Michael Tropeano
This award is dedicated to Dr. Gary Kime, who devoted over 30 years to Radnor Middle School as a 7th- and 8th-grade social studies teacher, academic team leader, coach, and athletic director. He was committed to excellence in the classroom and on the athletic fields. In a firm but friendly way, Dr. Kime embodied the very virtues he sought to instill in his students, his undefeated pound football teams, and his fellow faculty members; namely integrity, dedication, hard work, and a sincere pride in everything Radnor. Recipients of this award demonstrate these characteristics in their daily school life, yet may not be recognized in any other way. 

Emerson "Chief" Metoxen Award: Sarah Kelley and Nate Lucchesi
This award is given to the Radnor Middle School male/female athlete who is in the 8th-grade and who best exemplifies the Radnor traditions of sportsmanship, loyalty, and endeavor.

George W. Mitchell Award: Theodore He
This award is given in honor and in memory of former Radnor Middle School principal George W. Mitchell. It is presented annually to 8th-grade students for excellence in all academic areas in the 8th-grade at Radnor Middle School.

Kaela Stuard Award: Jacqueline Puopolo
This award is given in memory of a special student to a unique "spirit" whose openness and kindness lends itself to empathy and joy, despite the obstacles in life.

Lois Adams Award: Christopher Bowers and Ali Rosoff
This award is presented to 8th-grade students who have shown growth and improvement within their middle school career and have demonstrated consistent effort and motivation throughout middle school.

Patricia E. Lee Literacy Award: Henry Hirschler, Finn Ryan and Gautam Udupa
This award recognizes students who have a love of reading, literacy, and community. These students are rarely seen without a book in hand.

Peter Henkel Award: Charles Wallace
This award is given in memory of Pete Henkel, whose presence in the hallway gave other students endless optimism. When many people met Pete, they wondered how they could help him. However, he ended up helping everyone around him. This award is presented in Pete’s memory to the 8th grade students who exemplify courage, compassion, strength, patience and a kind spirit. 

PTO Service Award: Marissa Jackson and Kyle Speck
This award is presented annually to 8th-graders who have given outstanding service to the school and who may be considered an unsung hero. This student is always willing to help others without ever being asked.

Phillies All-Star Student: Elijah Waight
This award is presented to an 8th-grade student that was recognized by the Philadelphia Phillies for both his hard work in academics and his kind spirit through the organization's All-Star Students Contest.

Robert E. Reeser Award: Hanna Lyons
This award was established by Radnor Middle School in 1971 in memory of Robert E. Reeser. Mr. Reeser was a popular and beloved social studies teacher whose life was cut short by cancer. The award is presented to 8th-grade student who has all, or most, of the following characteristics: personal courage, self-discipline, interest in other, and school and community leadership.

Ryan Spiess Award: Wim van Rossum
This award is given "in memory of a student whose spunk and daring celebrated the power of individualism."

Walter E. Katuzny Award: Luke Evans and Bridget Walsh
This award is presented annually in memory of Walt Katuzny, a long-time Radnor Middle School teacher and Radnor High School coach who passed away years ago following a valiant battle with cancer. The Walter Katuzny Leadership Award is presented to a girl and a boy who have demonstrated leadership in academics, athletics, and service.

William F. Laffey Community Spirit Award: Lila Furey and Daniel Kaper-Barcelata
This award is presented to students that best exemplify the following attributes: empathy, concern for others, service, kindness, and cooperation with fellow students and staff. The recipient of this award is the kind of person that will lend a hand without fanfare.