Return to Headlines

21 RHS 2020 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists Named

Updated September 23, 2019; Published September 11, 2019

Twenty-One Radnor High School Seniors Named Semifinalists in 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program

Radnor High School 2020 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists Radnor High School seniors Estelle Atkinson, Katherine Bell, Riley Brenan, Luke Choi, Asa Hartman, Timothy Holtman, Helen Hu, Baylee Huang, Anna Maria Iaramboykov, Kyle Ittner, Yudai Kaneda, Amia Korman, Tobey Le, Chapin Lenthall-Cleary, John Lindgren, Leo Luan, Ryan Oliver, Sara Takenaka, Mehek Thapar, Thomas Tropeano and Annabel Zhao were recently named 2020 National Merit Scholarship semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The students are among 16,000 high school seniors from across the United States and are eligible for some 7,600 scholarships worth more than $31 million.
The 21 RHS 2020 semifinalists is an increase of five students from last year's semifinalist count. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship.

About 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.
To become a finalist, the semifinalist and his or her high school must submit a detailed scholarship application, in which they provide information about the semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received. A semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT® scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.
From the approximately 16,000 semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the finalist level. They will be notified of this designation in February 2020. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

The entire Radnor Township School District community congratulates these seniors on their tremendous accomplishment and wishes them the best of luck moving forward!
Pictured: (front row, left to right) Estelle Atkinson, Baylee Huang, Amia Korman and Mehek Thapar; (middle row, left to right) Ryan Oliver, Yudai Kaneda, Sara Takenaka, Annabel Zhao, Katherine Bell, Helen Hu and Anna Maria Iaramboykov; (back row, left to right) Thomas Tropeano, John Lindgren, Luke Choi, Chapin Lenthall-Cleary, Leo Luan, Timothy Holtman, Tobey Le and Kyle Ittner. Not pictured: Riley Brenan and Asa Hartman.