Return to Headlines

RHS Students Earn Gold Key Awards in Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

June 10, 2021

Four Radnor High School Students Earn Gold Key Awards in 2021 Philadelphia Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

Radnor High School students Eleanor Graves, Renatka Kozlowska, Janie McRae and Jack Teehan were recently named Gold Key winners in the 2021 Philadelphia Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. A total of 11 RHS students won a combined 18 awards - the school's highest-ever total - in this year's competition.

Eleanor was named a Gold Key winner in the Short Story category for "The Five Stages of Grief" and also earned a Silver Key for Personal Essay & Memoir and honorable mention in both the Short Story and Poetry categories. Renatka earned a Gold Key in Poetry for "Some People Dance in Chains" and Janie earned a Gold Key in the same category for "Ivan." Jack Teehan earned a Gold Key in the Mixed Media category for "Icarus and I."

Other award winners from RHS include Anika Jaswal, who earned two Silver Key awards for Personal Essay & Memoir and Poetry and three honorable mentions, Justin Nourian who earned a Silver Key in the Poetry category. Additional honorable mention awardees from RHS were Payton Breck in Poetry, Diana Huang in Drawing, Botong Li in Painting, Parnia Nasrullah in Flash Fiction, and Maddi Plyler in Photography.

The Scholastic Art and Writing Awards are the nation’s longest-running and most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in grades 7–12. The Philadelphia Writing Project serves as the writing affiliate for the Scholastic Writing Award for the 5-county region of Philadelphia.

Gold Keys are awarded to the very best works submitted to local programs and automatically considered for national-level recognition. Silver Keys are stand-out works submitted to local programs that demonstrate exceptional ability. An Honorable Mention designation is given to accomplished works submitted to local programs showing great skill and potential.

Gold Key winners were honored at a virtual awards ceremony in May.

Congratulations to all of this year's winners!